Becoming a Better Writer 101

Published July 15, 2011 by Aker

“Show, don’t tell.”

We just had our first official class today after our on-site orientation last night. I am still suffering from jet lag. I had a headache, took a three-hour afternoon nap, had trouble going to sleep and waking up and my body still aches. But I will push through because I think I will actually enjoy this course in addition to exploring London. This neighborhood and London has a rich history. We are staying in East London, which was comparable to New York City in the 70s before it became the slightly gentrified part of the city it is now. The university is next to part of the Regents Canal that leads directly into Hyde’s Park. Maybe I can use this as inspiration for my first piece. So far, I am using the cemetery that the university was built around for inspiration for my first practice piece based on Ezra Pound’s “In a Station of the Metro.” 

So, what did I hear in class today. Basically, using our five senses (sight, sound, touch, smell and taste) and the five W’s (who, what, where, when, and why) to do a great descriptive pieces. Nouns, verbs and only a little bit of adjectives (avoid adverbs) make description come alive. So, I am off to do some observing tonight. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

